Post-Career Fair Thoughts & Realizations

Feb. 22, 2017.

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln Career Services hosted a Business and Liberal Arts Career Fair.

This was my first time attending a career fair and I felt lost almost the entire time. I did what I could to prepare: printed copies of my résumé, looked through the list of employers attending, and did research on companies I wanted to talk to.

I checked-in, put on my name tag (it said I was a junior which scared me because I thought I was a sophomore), picked up the map for the event, had my headshot taken and walked in to an arena filled with companies that could be my employers some day.

This is when I really started to feel lost.

There were so many booths and so many people. I walked down the first row of employers aimlessly. Feeling overwhelmed, I took refuge in the water station. After looking at my list and the map, I found the courage to get back out there and meet with my desired employers.

I spoke with 5 companies, but had the most success at Hayneedle and Spreetail, both e-commerce companies.

hayneedle.com

At the Hayneedle booth, I asked what positions it had for an English and journalism student. The representative told me the company offers an editor position and prefers someone who specializes in English, journalism, advertising or other related majors. Perfect, I thought. A job that allows me to write and edit. Unfortunately, no internships were available.

Spreetail_Full_Horizontal_F45B5F

The last company I spoke to was Spreetail and I was very impressed to say the least. I spoke to Sam and he sold me on the idea of working there. I did more research once I got home and was pleased about what I found.

The company offers amazing incentives such as a company trip every year, full medical coverage, employee discount, company events and more. It invests in its community by donating some of its revenue. It also invests in its employees, making them better, stronger team members and people. After reading its “Be Relentless,” “Work Hard” and “Learn” mantras, which can be found on the Spreetail website, I knew it was a place I could see myself after graduation.

Even though I had a great experience at Hayneedle and Spreetail, I felt discouraged because most of the companies that attended were directed toward business majors. I didn’t feel qualified enough to go to most of the booths because I don’t study accounting, economics, finance or business.

The classic “What are you going to do with an English degree?” kept popping into my head.

english major

Realistically, an English major has many career options; we aren’t limited to teaching or doomed to live with our parents for the rest of our lives like most people think.

English majors learn and develop skills that benefit us outside the classroom and after graduation. The major one being communication. Sitting in class arguing whether Mr. Rochester is a hero isn’t a waste of time. It’s making us think critically and present arguments effectively. We also excel at written communication. I don’t know about you, but I check my email at least 10 times a day and I probably send at least 10 emails a week. Having the skill to write a professional, concise email is important in this technology-driven time. To my surprise, not everyone knows how to do that.

I know having an English has its perks, but I couldn’t help but feel discouraged after attending a career fair that was more beneficial and better suited for business majors. I started to think about my future and life after college, which is what career fairs should do, but I felt lost internally.

Is what I’m studying useful to me or a possible employer? Am I going to find a job after a graduate? Maybe I should switch majors. I’d probably be more likely to find a job if I study accounting.

It took me a day or two to recover after attending the career fair. OK, I’m being dramatic. But it did make me realize something.

If I’m thinking my English degree is a waste, the employers I’m talking to are probably thinking the exact same thing. Luckily, companies are starting to hire more English majors and other students pursuing a degree in the humanities.

Like any college student, I have to market my degree and my skills to possible employers and explain how I will benefit the company. And as an English major, I might have to work harder to make employers realize this, but that’s OK, because I’ve learned how to make a good argument.

Header photo courtesy

Leave a comment