The Power of Slam Poetry

During the spring 2017 semester, I was in an Intro to Poetry Writing class with Dr. Hope Wabuke.

I’ve got to say… this class was the most interesting, intellectually stimulating and entertaining classes I’ve taken so far. We talked about several different poets and read all kinds of poetry. We wrote about 15 poems for the class and workshopped a few of them. At first I was terrified to share my work with my peers because I’m a private person and don’t even share my work with my family. I don’t think I’ll ever show them the final portfolio I put together for the class.

I was interested in poetry before this class. I dabbled in it during high school English classes and watched slam poetry performances on my own time, but never truly jumped in with both feet.

So, when someone in my poetry class who is on the UNL Slam Poetry team announced they were having a poetry slam, I had to go.

I’ve watched hours of slam poetry performances online, but there is something so special about sitting in the audience and experiencing it firsthand. I’ve never been so affected by poetry in my life.

I was warned beforehand in class there was going to be a chance for anyone to get up and share their own poetry. Like I said, I don’t feel comfortable sharing my work so even picturing myself on that stage is legitimately terrifying. Major props to the poets who performed because they did a phenomenal job doing something I am too scared to do.

The next opportunity I have to go to a slam poetry reading, I will be there. I think it’s an experience everyone needs to have, even if they don’t think it’s their thing. Give it a chance. These poets are putting literally their heart and soul into their performances, and seeing someone be vulnerable in front of an audience is something extraordinary.

poetry gif

Here’s a list of my favorite poets, poems, poetry collections and slam performances.

Reagan Myers – “The Girl Becomes Gasoline” (CUPSI 2016) – UNL Student, The Daily Nebraskan article

Blythe Baird – “Fuckboys”

Olivia Gatwood – “Ode To My Bitch Face”

Christopher Poindexter Instagram

Rupi Kaur

One thought on “The Power of Slam Poetry

Leave a comment